Gallantry awards given for S&T, education services

| | No Comments

STAFF REPORT LHR: Ten educationists, 14 scientists, 25 engineers and six journalists were among 163 people who were given civil awards in recognition of their services at the Pakistan Day awards ceremony.

The president and governors gave away these awards at ceremonies that were organised to mark the 76th Pakistan Day.

In the education sector Higher Education Commission Chairman Prof Dr Mukhtar Ahmed, LUMS Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Syed Sohail Hussain Naqvi and Islamia College University Vice Chancellor Prof Ajmal Khan were given Sitara-i-Imtiaz for their services in the field of education.

The Presidents Pride of Performance award for education was given to Prof. Dr. Abida Taherani and Punjab University Dean and Prof. Zakria Zakar. HECs newly appointed Executive Director Prof Dr Arshad Ali and Dr Mohammad Uzair from Sindh were given Sitara-i-Imtiaz. Tamgha-i-Imtiaz was awarded to Munir Ahmed Bhullar, Prof. Dr. Saeeda Asadullah Khan (late) from Sindh and Dr. Zafar Iqbal from KPK.

In the science sector, Nishan-i-Imtiaz was awarded to Anwar Ali for his achievements in physics. Hilal-i-Imtiaz was given to Ejaz Ahmed Mukhtar (physics). Tamgha-i-Imtiaz was given to Dr. Safia Ahmed and Dr. Riffat Naseem Malik for their services in biology.

Pride of Performance was awarded to Dr. Nazir Ahmad (agriculture, Punjab), Dr. Mubarik Ahmed (agriculture, Sindh), Dr Alia Bano Munshi (Sindh), Dr Maqsood-ul-Hasan Nasim (plasma physics) and Mujeeb-ur-Rahman (geology). Sitara-i-Imtiaz was awarded to Dr Zafarullah Khan (electronics) and Khalid Iqbal Chishtee (nuclear physics). Tamgha-i-Imtiaz was awarded to GUC-F Vice Chancellor Prof Dr M. Ali and Dr Sadiq.


Published in: Volume 07 Issue 13

Short Link: